What are the Penalties of a DUI Arrest?
Whenever you find yourself pulled over to the side of the road for a DUI, OVWI, or OWI stop, it can be a scary and concerning situation. You are understandably worried about what this means for you. However, when you are wrongfully arrested for driving under the influence, you should know how to defend your rights to avoid some of the very serious penalties moving forward.
For a First Time Arrest
Many people overlook a first-time arrest for DUI, thinking that it’s not that serious. This misconception can prove to be costly as the penalties for even a first arrest can be severe. If you’re convicted, you may face jail time up to a year, as well as two years of probation, driver’s license suspension, and fines up to $5,000.
In many situations, you may be required to go through substance abuse education and undergo random testing for alcohol and drugs.
For a Second Time Arrest
The penalties worsen if you prove to be a habitual offender of driving under the influence. For a second OWI arrest, it can result in time spent in jail or prison—sometimes several years. Fines increase to up to $10,000 and probation is longer, reaching up to two and a half years.
Your driver’s license may be suspended for up to two years following a second DUI arrest and conviction.
For a Third Time Arrest
If you’re arrested for a third time with a DUI charge, you can have a Class D or Level 6 felony on your record. You may face a prison sentence, up to $10,000 in fines, two and a half years of probation, and driver’s license suspension maxing out at 10 years.
Under Indiana law, being arrested for habitual substance offenses can lead to additional prison time—sometimes up to eight more years.
The penalties you may face after a DWI conviction can be devastating. You need to defend your rights effectively. Our Indianapolis DUI attorneys at Keffer Hirschauer LLP are here to determine the most effective defense on your behalf.
Call our firm today at (317) 857-0160 to discuss your rights.